Rouge One Review

I know the hype is over, but I wanted to give my thoughts on Rouge One: A Star Wars Story. Alright, let’s get into it!

WARNING: SPOILERS AHEAD!

I actually enjoyed this movie a lot and it seems the fandom has enjoyed this movie more than Star Wars: The Force Awakens. Now, in the new canon, we now understand why the Death Star has such a huge weakness and how the rebel alliance stole the plans for the space station. Although it felt weird when the movie didn’t have a title crawl….

The beginning was really suspenseful. Krennic lands on the planet and the Erso family is extremely frantic. Also, those death troopers be talking like droids! Maybe some kind of code? Hopefully the way they talk will be explained in Star Wars Rebels since they’ve appeared in the mid-season trailer.

Years later, the rebels free Jyn from what appears to be a slave labor camp. I don’t remember what it is! I’ve only watched it once even though I’m a huge Star Wars fan! XD

I hope we see that place soon in the new canon again because I kinda want to explore that place a little. We find Saw Gerrera, who first appeared in Star Wars the Clone Wars and later in Star Wars Rebels, on Jedha which is an interesting planet because there’s a Jedi Temple there! No doubt we’ll be returning there soon!

I’m kinda going off topic but who found the easter eggs? There was the blue milk from the Erso house, The Ghost from Star Wars Rebels on Yavin 4 and Scarif, Chopper from Star Wars Rebels on Yavin 4, Syndulla’s name mentioned on the intercom on Yavin 4 (Probably either Cham or Hera), Those two guys from the cantina on Jedha who first appeared in A New Hope. Those are some of the major ones found in the movie. Which ones did you find?

Back to the movie!

As the movie progresses, we see that the rebels have made a few questionable decisions in the past. Watching the original trilogy as a child, I always saw them as the good guys who did everything right. Sure, that’s probably an unrealistic expectation but it was nice seeing the alliance under a different light.

Also, Darth Vader’s castle! Originally, it was supposed to appear in Empire Strikes Back but was scrapped. It later appeared in the old canon known as legends. But now it’s back! It’s kinda weird that it’s on Mustafar. The same planet where Anakin lost to Obi-wan in Revenge of the Sith. Maybe we’ll see more of it in the future!

Scarif was, for me, one of the most memorable battles ever! I really enjoyed the cuts from the ground to space and watching the rebels make a huge push towards victory. I’m really happy that the Hammerhead ships made it to the big screen as they’ve only been seen in Knights of the Old Republic which is legends and Star Wars Rebels. Still depressing that everyone died though. Some part of me wishes at least one of the main characters could’ve lived on.

Now, for the best Darth Vader scene… EVER! I’m sure no one’s forgetting that scene for a while. I switched sides for a while when I saw Darth Vader mow down those rebels troopers. The music, the fear on the rebels faces, Darth Vader not even flinching. I loved every part of it!

The only problem I have with Rouge One however is why was Tantive 4 on Scarif? Since C-3PO and R2-D2 were on Yavin 4 when the rebels were getting ready to attack, that means they were on that ship during the battle! Plus, Vader watches it leave and in A New Hope, Leia lies to him. I try not to think about it but it still kinda bugs me sometimes.

I actually didn’t mind Rouge One ending so close to A New Hope. It was actually pretty cool to see it cut that close and still make things work!

Anyways, those were just my thoughts and opinions on the movie. Hope you enjoyed and have a great day!

Leave a Reply

