RANKING THE SEVEN WONDERS OF THE WORLD

 

There isn’t a real way to put these spectacular places from worst to best, because they’re all the best. I’m just ranking them in the order that I would visit if I could go to them. The beauty of all these places is you’re going back in time, as some are centuries old. You wonder how did they built them without any of the technology that we have today? So let me start with my list.

colosseum

SEVEN: I chose the Colosseum in Rome, Italy. If these stone walls could talk, they would tell us of all the gladiator battles. You would see where they caged the animals, and you could imagine the stadium full of spectators.

new-seven-wonders-taj-mahal-jpg-rend-tccom-616-462

SIX: The Taj Mahal in Agra, India. This monument was built for love. The Mughal emperor built it for his wife so her remains could be put there. The Taj Mahal shines with its white ivory marble for the world to admire.

2bff5ad22aa8531a52e196f8f47f106d

FIVE: Christ the Redeemer in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. This is an Art Deco statue of Jesus Christ by a French sculpture. The Christ statue sits atop Rio’s Corcovado Mountain and people from all over the world travel to see it.

chichen-itza-tour01

FOUR: Chichen Itza in the Yucatan, Mexico. This is a massive step pyramid, built by the Mayans. They have a Wall of Skulls and the Temple of Warriors. The Mayan Pyramids is special to me because of my roots. Both of my parents were born in Honduras and they have Mayan Blood. It would be fun to visit this site to see a piece of my own culture.

peru-machu-picchu-2_2254620

THREE: Machu Picchu, Peru. Machu Picchu is an Incan city built high above the Andes Mountain. It was built in the 15th century and was never touched by the Spanish. Machu Picchu stands 2,430 miles above sea level, just be prepared for the hike and the high altitude.

img_5260

TWO: The Leaning Tower of Pisa. This is really a free-standing bell tower of Italian city of Pisa. It is an eight story building, and has a 297 step spiral staircase. To me, this is one of the amazing wonders. I have to wonder, how does it stay leaning all this time without crashing down?

great-wall

ONE: The Great Wall of China. The Great Wall was constructed in the seventh century to keep foreigners from coming in. It is 4,000-miles long and made out of stone, but to me the most amazing thing about the wall is that it’s the only manmade structure that can be seen from space. I would love to go up in space and see that, but would be satisfied seeing it in person as well.

All these places I have chosen are all a wonder and I would love to visit any one of them. What I like is the history that is behind each of these wonders. If you get a chance you should make a list of the places you want to visit and then fulfill your dream. I know I will do the same.

Leave a Reply

