Q & A WITH GIRLS VARSITY BASKETBALL CAPTAIN

The following is an interview with La Sierra’s Academy very own, Girls Varsity Basketball Captain, Natalie Ogbatue, reflecting on this years’ season and what she hopes to see in the future.

Q: Why did you start playing basketball?

A: I started playing basketball because I was always told that I was really tall, so I said “oh. Okay, I’ll play”.

Q: Were you surprised when your teammates choose you to be captain this year?

A: Yes, and no. I kind of told like everyone how badly I wanted to be basketball captain, but at the same time, I didn’t think that they would actually vote for me to be captain.

Q: How excited are you that your team received banner this year? 

A: I am so excited because my freshman year we were trying so hard to get it, and we lost the game where we would’ve gotten banner. So, when we got banner this year, I was so excited, and so happy, and all the hard work that we’ve been doing. It feels good to know that you’re leaving high school with your name on a banner. Every time you come back, your name will be up there for something that you did in history.

Q: How do you feel about the seniors leaving this year?

A: I’m going to miss a few of them, I really am. I’m going to be really sad because I’m so used to them, and them being around. Some of them are really good friends of mine. The fact that I won’t be able to see them Monday thru Friday, is just going to bum me out.

Q: What are you excited to see for next season? 

A: I am excited to see all the potential the freshman had this year, and see what they do with it next year on the team. Since they have experienced what it’s like to be on a varsity team now, which is a lot more different than being on a junior high team, they now know what they can do with themselves over the summer. So, when they come in next season, they are prepared a whole lot better than they were this year.

Q: What is the most memorable event you’ve experienced from playing basketball?

A: Okay, I don’t think I can narrow it down between these two, but the top one for me ever, was for me to go into 8th grade year never had played basketball before in my life, like ever. I had touched a basketball, but I didn’t know how to shoot. However, that year, I walked out being MVP of the team, and that year I also had a lot of schools that we had played, contact me afterwards, trying to get me to go to thier school, which was kind of funny. Another one was also 8th grade year, when I think the most points I ever made in a game was 32 points. I was so excited! That just really made me know how much I am able to do, and anytime I feel bad or down in a game, I always remember that I can make it up to 32 points. I always try to go for 15-20 points, but that has always pused me to remember that I can make it to 32.

Interviewed by Saraih Romo

Leave a Reply

